Steve Sisolak

Governor



Richard Whitley

Director

State of Nevada

Department of Health and Human Services

Medicaid Implementation for HCESB Recommendations

Division of Health Care Financing and Policy Kirsten Coulombe, Social Services Chief III



June 6, 2022

HCESB Recommendation 1

"Recommendation that the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) reopens the deadline for employers to apply for the first round of \$500 supplemental payments and send a notice to employers stating they are expected to apply."

- On July 22, 2022 the Division sent out a survey to enrolled Medicaid providers of personal care services to inquire why an organization did not apply for the first round of \$500 payments.
- A survey reminder was sent on August 18, 2022.



Continued from June 6, 2022

HCESB Recommendation 2

"It is also recommended that it become mandatory for employers to apply for future rounds of \$500 supplemental payments to employees."

- The Division will encourage providers to apply for the second round.
- Due to the structure of the current PCS program, provider agencies have full discretion over how to pass funds on to their workers including the amount a worker may received.



Continued from June 6, 2022

HCESB Recommendation 3

"Recommendation to require that Nevada Medicaid obtain reports from personal care agencies receiving the 15% supplemental payment on how they are spending that additional funding."

- DHCFP has developed a survey to send to all providers who received the 15% Supplemental Payment.
- The survey inquires what activities the enhanced funding was spent on by providers.
- Upon completion of the survey, the Division can share those results with the Board.



June 29, 2022

Recommendation 1

"In recognition of the systemwide savings generated by caring for seniors and the disabled in their own homes and the opportunity to draw down additional federal dollars through the Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) match, the Medicaid reimbursement rate for personal care services shall be increased to \$25 per hour."

- The Division has taken this recommendation into consideration when evaluating budget initiatives for the next legislative session.
- Additionally, the Division is utilizing American Rescue Plan Act funding to conduct a rate study which includes the PCS methodology.



June 29, 2022

Recommendation 2

"Additionally, the Board recommends that DHHS support a bill in the 2023 legislative session that would require personal care agencies to pay a minimum wage of \$15 per hour to workers providing Medicaid-funded personal care services."

DHCFP Implementation Plan

- Due to the structure of the current PCS program, provider agencies have full discretion over how to pass funds on to their workers including the amount a worker may received.
- A legislative mandate would be required in order for Nevada Medicaid to require an enrolled provider to direct a percentage of a Medicaid reimbursement rate to an employee.

July 18,2022

HCESB Recommendation

"DHHS request a hearing on the Medicaid manuals that affect personal care to make a change that requires personal care agencies to only be permitted to hire W2 employees and ban the hiring of independent contractors by personal care agencies."

DHCFP Implementation

 The Division will collaborate with the Bureau of Licensure and Certification to determine potential next steps since this recommendation relates to enrollment of a personal care services organization.





Questions?



Contact Information

Kirsten Coulombe

Social Services Chief III

kirsten.coulombe@dhcfp.nv.gov

(775) 684-37847

www.dhcfp.nv.gov

